Local entrepreneurship – Crunched and Deep fried

November 6, 2009

Alright – I have to admit. I was supposed to put this up yesterday, and since then I have written close to 5000 odd words before scrapping them all (I didn’t think you would be interested in an essay of 5000 words), so here are my views. Crunched and deep fried.

The question that remains unanswered till date in my mind is: “Why doesn’t India produce more International startups?”, and the general (please note the word) answers vary depending on the person to whom the question is asked:

1. The VC: The ecosystem doesn’t support it. What he means is: Someone please ask the rich guys to start doling out more money as angel money so that we get the business plan at a time when the business is ‘well done’. Not two college boys with half baked ideas. Only one VC I know has ever said what I believe should be reciprocated everywhere: “We have the money – bring us fundable businesses.” Thats an important element – are you fundable? I have some thought on this – but that’s another post altogether.

2. The angel networks guys: There aren’t enough good businesses that come for funding. Now this is serious – cause its as straight as it gets. You might have a great business plan, but you aren’t going to the right guys. Why? Maybe you dont have mentors? Just plain scared? Not confident enough? Waiting for the right time? Christmas? BTW – if you need mentors – they wont come to you. You go to them. So start seeking them out. Just to do my part – I do help out entrepreneurs by poking holes into other peoples ideas / plans. So feel free to get in touch if you think I could be of any meager help.

3. The media guys: Indian entrepreneurs don’t think global enough. I agree with this one the most, and I have seen it. We will develop intricate networks, processes, systems and make money enough to sustain ourselves by solving small problems. Second hand cars, Vegetables to your doorstep, self print t-shirts, facebook me-toos, community based talks on IITJEE. Wow. World changing. Never existed before. Noone did that ever before. Do you think you are swinging for the fences? Do you think you are changing the world? Not the neighborhood – not the city, not the country. The world. An entrepreneur makes it really big, or falls flat on his face. Either ways – he wins. We as Indians dont play to win. We play to stay in the game. Secure. With our self printed t-shirts.

4. Entrepreneurs themselves: We dont have the funds to grow big enough. Fair point. I have five questions for you my friend:

  • Is your team better than the others? Honestly? You think so? Get a second, third and fourth opinion. If you have even an iota of doubt – take corrective measures early in the game. Its critical.
  • Is your business worthy of the funds that it wants to raise? Ask someone who has raised funds / ask your really rich uncle. If you have a VC friend, run your business by him – they give invaluable feedback. My recommendation to every entrepreneur is to meet with as many VCs they can – get their feedback and MAKE THE RELEVANT CHANGES. Don’t be an Ostrich. Get your head out of the sand and listen to feedback.
  • Have you put in enough ‘sweat’? I see people a month into the business trying to raise a million dollars. Get real guys. If you had 100 Mn, and I wanted 1 Mn out of that – you would’nt give it to me unless I showed you the amount of sweat that I put in, so why should you expect others to?
  • Have you got your bases covered? i.e: Have you thought about the business really? I mean – really really thought it through? I can guarantee that 8 out of 10 guys will not be able to defend every question someone throws at them, so don’t say “yes – I know my business inside out”.
  • Have you tested the market? Thinking about the business and validating it from customers are two very different things. Do that. You will understand that thats where the real rubber hits the road. When the customer has to sign the cheque. Thats validation. Not one, not two – but consistently for sometime. You are there.

My simple recommendation to whoever will listen is: Ingrain the following in your mind, soul, body and team.

1. Dream big and solve a global problem. Dream Extremely f@#@$~! big, and try and solve a simple problem that can be global.

2. Be obsessed with scalability. Put it in your vision, mission, letters, memo, logo, processes, technology, breakfast, dinner, underpants – whatever. When I say scalable – I mean person independent. You cant run a global business if your systems and processes require the addition of 1 person per 100 customers. No can do. Definitely not if you are a consumer business. Look at Google.

3. Be very vary about the team: You need global thinkers to come up with solutions for global problems. Be hard about this. If things are wrong – correct them. If the person is wrong – replace him. Don’t let that fester.

4. Build a culture where the face of the company can stand up in front of any crowd and beat down the biggest guys. The biggest. The key is to believe.

5. Last, but definitely not the least – Listen. Carefully. To everything that is said about your business. Try and constantly connect the dots. The VCs, friends, customers, partners – everyone will give you some feedback – and 9 out of 10 times, it will be relevant.

We at Voicetap stick by these dictums, and I believe we have something that is global. Encourage you to do the same. Happy to hear your thoughts.

M

7 Responses to “Local entrepreneurship – Crunched and Deep fried”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Voicetap, Mrigank Tripathi. Mrigank Tripathi said: The link didn't work yesterday. The correct link for the post: Local entrepreneurship – crunched and deep fried http://bit.ly/4AD4dw […]

  2. ajit Says:

    wonder why voicetap is with .in domain if u r dreaming global eh?

    Second thing – why the f we need to build global companies??

    India has 1.1 billion population which is 1/6th of the global population. so what if my product/service focuses solely on this 1.1 billion population??

    Rule of thumb – first build something which is useful, selling, and making profit and then bullshit us with all this.

    • v Says:

      As far as the Domain name name is concerned, that’s no brainer – You take what u get.
      And about the Global thingy – Dude trust me the day anybody has a service/product for 1.1 billion people – you would have possibly solved a global problem.

  3. Mrigank Says:

    Ajit,

    You don’t HAVE to try and build a global business. In fact – don’t even try 🙂 Oh – and a good day to you too.

    M

  4. Mrigank Says:

    Back from my meeting. On a more serious note: Here is why that logic doesn’t work (according to me):

    1/ The 1.1 Bn people is a myth. Not one company in India has been able to get across to half of them. The internet population is 44 Mn, and the Mobile totals at 470 Mn (stated – most probably half that in actual). If your business is in tech, your audience is 44 Mn (at the outer), or 470 (stated) Mn on the mobile. Now – going top down has never worked (never has, never should be used to pitch and never will work) – cause thats too many assumptions. If you tell me that you can reach 3 Mn by a bottom up approach, and do it quickly enough, while making money. Great business. Not Global, but Great business. I would go for it anyday.

    2/ The reason to build Global companies is because you want to. You need to, but you don’t HAVE to :-). Great businesses can be built otherwise as well (and there are lots of such examples in India). My opinion is that we should aim at Global businesses – not because your opportunity demands it or not, but because you want to.

    3/ To your rule of thumb: I agree a 100%, and I dont say that I am the guru who has the ‘credibility’ to dole out this ‘bullshit’ – yet. However, to get to the Red Herring Global Top 100 + Asia Top 100 in 9 months of operations must mean that we are doing something right. Anyways – like I mentioned, each to his own. These are my thoughts – and I stick by them. There are many of us who are happy with an Indian only business. I am not one of them. I believe that me and my team have what it takes to build a global business – and we are swinging for it. Simple.

    Hope you enjoyed the blog / this exchange as much as I did. It made me think. Thanks for writing in and sharing your candid thoughts!

    Mrigank

  5. Annkur Says:

    Ah, One great advice you gave was to go and meet as many VC’s as possible. The feedback is so valuable. And the best part – its Free consulting!

    Same for many small and medium businesses. Go and consult big agencies. Atleast the proposal is free… 😀

  6. prasoonk Says:

    I’d add here to what Annkur said – Also apply to Demo conference and Techcrunch50. You get free advice there as well. You might get featured as well. To go there, you must dole out $2500 (fees) + travel cost to USA.


Comments are closed.